Global Accessibility Awareness Day BIG SALE: Get 23% off accessibility plans, only until May 31 Learn more

We use cookies to improve your experience on EqualWeb and provide you with more relevant and personalized services. By continuing to browse on EqualWeb you agree to our use of cookies.
Learn More


Australia web accessibility

DDA Compliance in Australia
Australia passed the Disability Discrimination Act (DDA) in 1992, making it “it unlawful to discriminate against a person, in many areas of public life, including employment, education, getting or using services, renting or buying a house or unit, and accessing public places, because of their disability.”
This law applies to the public and private sectors alike. Australia adopted the WCAG 2.0 Level AA compliance, as well as the European Union’s standards, naming it AS EN 301 549.
The AS EN 301 549 standards were ratified in 2016, introducing the minimum accessibility requirements for ICT products and services.
WCAG Version Used: WCAG 2.0
Relevant standard: EN 301549
Requires WCAG 2.0 Level AA
Date enacted: 2016
Last Updated: 23.09.2020
For more information about the law in Australia Click here

Got sued? Get a Free risk assessment

Have you received a complaint or demand letter?
Worried you might be at risk of getting one?
Schedule a consultation with an accessibility expert for a free risk assessment.

Free Risk assessment
Free 15 minutes with accessibility specialist - ask me anything, no strings attached