Pdf accessibility remediation tools -   Just upload and fixExplore now
Web Accessibility is EqualWeb

Accessibility made easy with AI technology and certified experts
The world’s #1 web accessibility solution

Get Free trial
7 days FREE Trial Unlimited pageviews for any plan

Italy’s Web Accessibility Regulation

January 23, 2023
Italy, like other Member States of the European Union, legislates and enforces web accessibility laws for people who live with disabilities.
What is known as the Web Accessibility Directive (WAD) was enacted in 2011 in a bill named “the Directive of the President of the Republic No. 235 of March 4, 2011.” According to the decree, all public sector bodies are compelled to make their websites accessible to those with impairments. The regulation stipulates the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 as the standard by which to remediate websites.

Public websites that don’t meet certain WCAG criteria in terms of accessibility and usability for people with disabilities would be violating Italian law. The Italian government agency responsible for enforcing this regulation is the Garante per l’Accessibilità dei Siti Web delle Pubbliche Amministrazioni (GASWA).

WCAG 2.0 and accessibility statement

The WAD applies to all websites and web-based applications of public sector bodies, including national and local government, public administration, and state-funded institutions.

WCAG standards are an internationally recognized set of guidelines for making web content accessible to people with disabilities. The WCAG 2.0 guidelines are divided into three levels of conformance: A, AA, and AAA. The Decree requires that public sector websites meet Level AA conformance, which is considered the minimum level for accessibility.

The WAD also requires public sector websites to provide an accessibility statement, which must include information about the level of conformance of the website, any known accessibility barriers, and contact information for a person or department responsible for accessibility.

It is important to note that the regulation applies to new or significantly modified websites or web-based applications. Existing websites must have been compliant by December 31, 2016.

The Italian government agency responsible for enforcing the Directive is the Garante per l’Accessibilità dei Siti Web delle Pubbliche Amministrazioni (GASWA), which is the national authority for web accessibility in Italy. GASWA is responsible for monitoring compliance with the regulation, providing guidance and support to public sector organizations, and enforcing penalties for non-compliance.

Is the WAD relevant to your business?

The Web Accessibility Directive applies specifically to public sector websites and web-based applications in Italy, so private businesses are not directly subject to the regulation. However, private businesses may still be impacted by the regulation in a number of ways.

First, private businesses that provide goods or services to the public sector may be required to make their websites and web-based applications accessible as a condition of doing business with the government.

Second, private businesses that operate in certain industries, such as banking and insurance, may be subject to additional regulations that require them to make their websites and web-based applications accessible to people with disabilities.

Third, private businesses may also face legal action under Italy’s laws on discrimination, which prohibit discrimination against people with disabilities in access to goods and services.

Lastly, it’s worth mentioning that there is a general trend in the world towards web accessibility and many private businesses already have made or are working towards making their websites accessible. Why? To be inclusive, to reach a bigger audience, and also to avoid legal issues.

AgID accessibility declaration

AgID stands for Digital Agency Italy, or in Italian, “Agenzia per l’Italia Digitale.” According to the official AgID Italian website, it “promotes and favors the dissemination of the accessibility of IT tools within the public administration and private individuals.”

Based on the WAD legislation, the AgID issued specific guidelines on the accessibility of information and technology tools, which came into effect on 10 January 2020. The guidelines direct the Public Administration to provide increasingly accessible services.

Public Administration refers to the Italian government and public sectors, regional municipal bodies, as well as transport or telecom sectors that have partial government ownership. The law also applies to private companies that cooperate with the public sector. These agencies and organizations are mandated to issue an accessibility declaration on the AgID website as well as an accessibility report once a year.

As the AgID website stipulates:

  • By March 31 of each year, publish the accessibility objectives for the current year and the state of implementation of the plan for the use of teleworking.
  • By 23 September of each year, carry out a complete analysis of the websites and fill in the accessibility declaration on, providing the feedback mechanism and the access link to the implementation procedure in the accessibility declaration.

Contact an EqualWeb representative to learn how to make your website accessible for the best price.

ADA Compliance Software

09/04/2024 13:33:37

In the fast-paced digital landscape of today, ensuring accessibility for all users is not just a competitive aspect of the market but a legal necessity. With the rise in lawsuits related to website accessibility, businesses and website owners are increasingly finding themselves under scrutiny for non-compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). However, navigating the complexities of ADA compliance can be daunting and time-consuming, often diverting attention from core business activities. Enter EqualWeb`s automatic AI-powered accessibility software – a game-changer in simplifying the process and alleviating one major worry for businessmen and website owners alike.

More Details

In 2004, Italy introduced a groundbreaking piece of legislation known as the Legge Stanca, or Law 4/2004. This legislation, also referred to as the Stanca Act, established a set of guidelines for ensuring the accessibility of websites and mobile applications for people with disabilities. Italy has recently expanded its accessibility law to apply to large private entities, which establishes the Stanca Law even more as a significant force in promoting digital inclusion in the boot-shaped peninsula.

More Details

What are the new guidelines of WCAG 2.2? How can you ensure your website is still accessible and compliant with the new updates? What does EqualWeb cover from the WCAG 2.2 requirements and what it does not? What has changed from WCAG 2.2 and what remained the same? We compiled all the answers in the following article.

More Details
Free 15 minutes with accessibility specialist - ask me anything, no strings attached