Renewed!  Check out our upgraded dashboard Explore now
Web Accessibility is EqualWeb

Accessibility made easy with AI technology and certified experts
The world’s #1 web accessibility solution

Get Free trial
7 days FREE Trial Unlimited pageviews for any plan

EqualWeb Fully Compatible With New WCAG 2.2 Guidelines

24/10/2023 21:33:41
What are the new guidelines of WCAG 2.2? How can you ensure your website is still accessible and compliant with the new updates? What does EqualWeb cover from the WCAG 2.2 requirements and what it does not? What has changed from WCAG 2.2 and what remained the same? We compiled all the answers in the following article.

The EqualWeb accessibility enhancement tools are fully compatible with the new Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.2 success criteria.

The Auto AI Accessibility Widget is now running under the WCAG 2.2 guidelines, ensuring your website remains accessible according to the most up-to-date international accessibility standards.

In total, WCAG 2.2 adds nine new guidelines and removes the 4.1.1 Parsing guideline from the conformance requirements.

It is important to note, however, that not all success criteria can be remediated automatically, as some will require remediation by the client. We inform all our clients of the steps needed to take on their part to ensure their full compatibility.

EqualWeb clients that are enrolled in the ADA Managed Compliance plan are fully supported by the EqualWeb remediation teams and are exempt from any action on their part.

The WCAG 2.2 guidelines were published as a “W3C Recommendation” web standard on 5 October 2023 and are expected to become the new rule for web accessibility compliance worldwide.

Breakdown of changes from WCAG 2.2 to WCAG 2.2

As mentioned, WCAG 2.2 provides 9 additional success criteria and makes 4.1.1 Parsing obsolete. Other than that, the guidelines are essentially the same as those of WCAG 2.0 and WCAG 2.2.

Let us walk you through the additional guidelines.

Guideline 2.4 Navigable

The 2.4.11, 2.4.12, and 2.4.13 clauses are automatic and are fully incorporated via the EqualWeb widget.

2.4.11 Focus Not Obscured (Minimum) (AA)
This ensures that when an item gets keyboard focus, it is at least partially visible.

2.4.12 Focus Not Obscured (Enhanced) (AAA)
This ensures that when an item gets keyboard focus, it is fully visible.

2.4.13 Focus Appearance (AAA)
This enables the use of a focus indicator of sufficient size and contrast.

The following success criteria are not automatic and require manual remediation, either by the web owner or by his or her web accessibility solution provider.

Guideline 2.5 Input Modalities

2.5.7 Dragging Movements (AA)
This provides a simple pointer alternative for any action that involves dragging.

2.5.8 Target Size (Minimum) (AA)
This ensures that targets meet a minimum size or have sufficient spacing around them.

Guideline 3.2 Predictable

3.2.6 Consistent Help (A)
This provides a help option in the same place when it is on multiple pages.

Guideline 3.3 Input Assistance

3.3.7 Redundant Entry (A)
This ensures the same information is not asked for twice in the same session.

3.3.8 Accessible Authentication (Minimum) (AA)
This ensures people do not solve, recall, or transcribe something to log in.

3.3.9 Accessible Authentication (Enhanced) (AAA)
This ensures people do not have to recognize objects or user-supplied images and media to log in.

For more detailed information on the additional success criteria in WCAG 2.2, please visit the official W3C website.

What is WCAG?

WCAG is the world’s most comprehensive and robust content guidelines for making your website accessible to individuals with disabilities. The guidelines are developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)—yes, the people who invented the Internet.

Although WCAG conformance is not legally binding, many countries adopted the WCAG guidelines as the benchmark for web accessibility compliance—making WCAG the de facto standard for legal compliance. For example, US regulation Section 508 stipulates WCAG 2.0 as the accessibility standard for government websites. The Department of Justice (DOJ) also endorsed the WCAG resource as the web accessibility standard for non-discriminatory laws concerning those with disabilities.

Make your website WCAG 2.2 compatible today

Your digital presence can be equally accessible to everyone, regardless of disability or personal limitations. EqualWeb is the only web accessibility technology vendor that combines full WCAG 2.2 compliance with an intuitive and seamless browsing experience for all, even as your site evolves and grows.

To ensure web accessibility to all potential customers and to secure your business from hefty accessibility-related lawsuits, make your website WCAG 2.2 compliant today with EqualWeb.

Get FREE trial

From now on, users can access accessibility functions like Voice Navigation, Color Adjustments, and Image Descriptors, among others. The Fnac website is now more accessible for users with different types of disabilities, including seniors.

More Details

Closed captions for videos and audio content enable people with hearing impairments to understand the content. EqualWeb has become the first web accessibility vendor to provide a video and audio closed captions option for people with disabilities as part of its automatic services.

The unique benefit of the function is that it’s entirely automatic. Moreover, as the website owner, you can modify the automatic generic text if you find a mismatch between the video and the text (the AI may miss a few words here and there), using the Captions Editor in your dashboard.

The closed captions function includes a simple on-and-off activation button, a rating vote for feedback purposes, a new transcription window over the video or audio element, and a captions download option. The captions’ font conforms to the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.2 standards for easily accessible fonts.

More Details
Free 15 minutes with accessibility specialist - ask me anything, no strings attached