Global Accessibility Awareness Day BIG SALE: Get 23% off accessibility plans, only until May 31 Learn more

We use cookies to improve your experience on EqualWeb and provide you with more relevant and personalized services. By continuing to browse on EqualWeb you agree to our use of cookies.
Learn More

Web Accessibility is EqualWeb
EqualWeb is trusted and used by industry-leading companies. From fortune 500s to Non-profits, we’ve got you covered!
Get Free trial

Israel Standard 5568 compliance

What is IS 5568?

IS 5568 stands for Israel Standard 5568, a set of legislation aimed to remove Web accessibility barriers for people with disabilities.
The law came into effect in October 2017, requiring government agencies, the public sector, and most businesses and nonprofit organizations to meet digital accessibility standards.
Check out EqualWeb’s digital accessibility solutions in Hebrew.

IS 5568 litigation breakdown

Providing access for the impaired is not an option but a real necessity.
Complying with the new accessibility regulations is by no means a simple task, even for experienced Web owners and designers. Not everyone is familiar with the intricacies of the law and regulations, with the time scales, the levels of accessibility required, and the effective implementation of accessibility rules.
Israeli regulation allows the plaintiff to file suit even if there was no proof of damages or loss. Non-compliance to IS 5568 standards is a sufficient cause for anyone with disabilities to file a claim.

Moreover, a violation of IS 5568 can expose the owner of the website to a fine of up to NIS50,000.
This is why we at EqualWeb highly recommend not taking any unnecessary risks and offer FREE consultancy with one of our Web accessibility experts.

Who must comply with IS 5568?

Every organization offering services or goods to the public must comply with IS 5568.
Israel’s Commision for Equal Rights of Persons with Disabilities explicitly states that “Services requiring accessibility are services provided to the public by a public entity or in a public place.”
Furthermore: “A public entity is an entity that provides service to the public, regardless of whether the entity is large or small, private or not, for profit or not for profit.”

List of “public entities” offering services to the public:

  • Health
  • Entertainment
  • Education, learning, or leisure
  • Social welfare
  • Sports
  • Tourism
  • Transportation
  • Cultural
  • Hospitality
  • Commerce
  • Religious
  • Energy
  • Bezeq (telecommunication)
  • Banking, credit, insurance, and pension, or any financial service

Large, medium, and small businesses with an annual revenue surpassing NIS300,000 must meet IS 5568 compliance standards.

Private contractors who make less than NIS100,000 per year are excluded from IS 5568 accessibility standards.

What are the IS 5568 Web accessibility standards?

The Israeli government stipulates the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG), developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), as the official standard for digital assets.
IS 5568 chose WCAG 2.0 Level AA as the benchmark for compliance demands.
EqualWeb raises your site’s accessibility standards to WCAG 2.1 Level AA, putting your business ahead of the legislation curve, protecting you from litigation, and broadening your engagement potential by making your site equal and accessible to all.

EqualWeb provides full IS 5568 compliance

We at EqualWeb provide our clients with professional and thorough consulting, a robust audit of your websites, automatic monitoring of all your pages via our artificial intelligence and machine learning tools, and meticulous manual remediation so your digital assets will test against full compliance standards under the law.

Our services come with the market’s most powerful and cutting-edge technology, with a team of dedicated professionals. From the first stage to the ongoing process of seamless site transformation, EqualWeb will help you achieve full IS 5568 compliance via our accessibility solutions.

Free Risk assessment
Free 15 minutes with accessibility specialist - ask me anything, no strings attached